Scouts BSA Awards

Reference material about some of the awards and recognitions available to Boy Scouts.

The National Outdoor Achievement Award

The National Outdoor Achievement Award (No. 430-509) recognizes Scouts BSA/Varsity Scouts that excel in outdoor participation. The award consists of five areas of emphasis (camping, aquatics, hiking, riding and adventure) with rigorous requirements to earn each segment. For Scouts looking for an extra challenge, the National Medal for Outdoor Achievement. This challenging award requires earning at least three of the National Outdoor Achievement segments, planning and leading a trek, earning Wilderness First Aid and becoming a Leave No Trace Trainer as well as several other requirements.

Advancements and Awards

Scouting provides a series of obstacles and steps and overcomes them through the advancement method.  Scouts plan their own advancement and progress at their own pace as they meet each challenge.  Scouts are recognized and rewarded for each achievement, which helps them gain self-confidence.

Conservation Good Turn

The Conservation Good Turn is an opportunity for Cub Scout packs, Scouts BSA, Varsity Scout teams, and Venturing crews to join with conservation or environmental organizations (federal, state, local, or private) to carry out a conservation Good Turn in their home communities.

Merit Badge Program

The merit badge program, which provides opportunities for youth to explore more than a hundred fields of skill and knowledge, plays a key role in the fulfillment of Scouting's educational commitment.

Religious Emblems

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, religious groups have developed religious emblems programs.

The Principles of Leave No Trace

Leave No Trace is an awareness of our impact on the environment that teaches us to respect the rights of other users of the outdoors as well as future generations.

Spirit of the Eagle Award

The Boy Scouts of America has created the Spirit of the Eagle Award as an honorary, posthumous special recognition for a registered youth member who has lost his or her life in an accident or through illness.